Tag Manager

 

Overview

Tagging items in your website allows for enhanced sorting and better organization of your content. The Tag Manager is a way to manage the tags that have been added and are used around your site. If you allow your content publishers to add new tags as they need, you will find that the list of tags can become unwieldy and sometimes needs to be maintained. For example, you might use the tag "parents" a lot, but someone may have entered in "parent" in another area. In this case, you may choose to consolidate those tags in to the one you prefer. You will be able to create a new Tag by using the Add Tag button, Merge existing Tags into a single Tag, and finally Delete one or more Tags using this tool. As an Administrator you will also be able to Enable or Disable the addition of new Tags through the use of the Tag Lock. We'll explain all of these options below.

 

Tag Manager

To access the Tag Manager from the dashboard, select the Settings tab and then, Tag Manager. Use the Add and Delete buttons to add or remove tags for use around your site.

Add Tag

  1. Select the Add Tag button
  2. Enter the Tag name
  3. Submit will process the addition, or Cancel will exit without adding.

Merge Tags

  1. Select the Tags you wish to affect by using the checkboxes to the left of each Tag name on the main Tag Manager page. You can select as many Tags as you need.
  2. Select the Merge Tag button at top
  3. Checked Tags will be displayed and you will enter a new Tag name for the merged tags
  4. Select OK to process the merge or Cancel to exit without merging

Delete Tags

  1. Select Tags by using the checkboxes to the left of the name. You can select as many Tags as you need.
  2. Select Delete Tags
  3. Checked Tags will be displayed and you will be asked if you want to continue.
  4. Select Yes to delete or No to exit without deleting


Clear Selections

Will clear the checks from any Tags on the main Tag Manager page .

 

Working with Individual Tags

You can also work with each Tag individually on the same screen. You have the option to Change Tag or Delete Tag for each individual Tag. You will see these buttons to the right of each Tag.

Change Tag

  1. Select the Change Tag button
  2. The box will display the current Tag name and a text box to enter a new Tag name
  3. Select OK to process or Cancel to exit without processing the change.

Delete Tag

  1. Select the Delete Tag button
  2. The box will display the name of the Tag to be deleted and you will be asked if you are sure.
  3. Select Yes to process or No to exit without processing the delete.

 

Tag Lock

By default, Tags can be freely created during the creation of News, Calendar, Blogs, etc. The Tag Lock allows the Administrator additional control by restricting or allowing the creation of new Tags in the system. When the Tag Lock is Enabled users will not be able to create new Tags, but only select from the tags that are available. If the Tag Lock is Disabled then users will be able to select from existing Tags or create new Tags as they need.

  1. Select the toggle button next to the Tag Lock.
  2. If the lock is currently Disabled, then you will be asked if you want to Enable the lock.
  3. If the lock is currently Enabled, then you will be asked if you want to Disable the lock.
  4. Select Yes to change or No to exit without changing.