Managing Groups

 

Overview

You may already know that users can be associated with the departments in your system. If you have multiple users, especially ones who need similar access requirements, it would be cumbersome to assign the departments to each user individually.

This is where groups come into play. In Campusuite, it is possible to create groups that have with them access privileges to the departments in your system. In short, you can define in these groups what departments should be accessible to the users who belong to that group. This keeps you from having to go in for each user and make the needed associations between them and the departments.

 

Adding a Group

  1. Navigate to the Group Administration page.
  2. On this page, click on the Add Group button. The Add Group page will show.
  3. Fill out the fields for the new group. View a description of this interface for reference.
  4. Once you are satisfied with the setup of the group, click the Add Group button near the bottom of the page.

 

Editing a Group

  1. Navigate to the Group Administration page.
  2. The page will show a list of all the current groups in your system. Browse through this list and select the group that you wish to edit by clicking on its name. The Modify Group page will show.
  3. Make the necessary changes for the group. View a description of this interface for reference. Please note that changing the department associations of a group will affect all of the users that are members of the group. Although this is the intended effect of implementing and using groups, it is important to note so as to be cautious when assigning such permissions to a large number of users.
  4. Once satisfied with your changes, click on the Update Group button near the bottom of the page. If you do no want to save any changes you made to the group, click the Cancel button instead. You will then be redirected to the Group Administration page.

 

Deleting a Group

  1. Navigate to the Group Administration page.
  2. The page will show a list of all the current groups in your system. Browse through this list and select the group that you wish to delete by clicking on its name. The Modify Group page will show.
  3. Near the bottom of the page, click on the Delete Group button.
  4. You will be shown a confirmation dialog; click the OK button to continue, or the Cancel button to quit.
  5. Assuming the deletion was confirmed, the group will be deleted and no longer associated with any user accounts. You will be redirected to the Group Administration page, and the group should no longer be listed.

 

Assigning or Removing Users from a Group

  1. Navigate to the Group Administration page.
  2. The page will show a list of all the current groups in your system. Browse through this list and click the Add People button for the group that you wish to assign users to. This will navigate you to the Group Members page.
  3. Here, you will be shown two lists. The list to the left is the Available Users list, and the one to the right is the Group Members list. Users already associated with the group will be listed under the Group Members list, and the rest of the users in the system will be listed under the Available Users list.
  4. From here, you can add or remove users from the group as you wish. Double-clicking a user in one list will remove it from that list and move it back to the other list.
  5. Once you are satisfied with your changes, click the Update Users button to save your changes. If you do not want to save your changes, click the Cancel button instead. You will then be redirected to the Group Administration page.