Deleting a Page

Pages can be deleted in one of two ways.

The first way is to simply delete the navigation item that points to a page. This will keep the page present on the server (and still able to be viewed if someone has a direct link to it), but it will not be linked to from the navigation.

The other way is to delete both the navigation link and the actual page from the server. This will completely remove the page from the server. If any other navigation items or links on your site (or present on other sites) will then "break".

To delete a page:

  1. You must be viewing a page in the website for which you want to delete a page. You are not required to be on the specific page that is to be deleted.
  2. Click the Edit Navigation button. The Navigation Editor will be shown.
  3. Find the navigation item in the Navigation Editor that you want to delete. Click the title of the item to open its navigation properties. The Modify Link page will show.
  4. Click the Delete button.
  5. You will be prompted to determine whether the page attached to the navigation should be left on the server or deleted as well. Make your choice and then click the Continue button.
  6. You will be prompted to confirm the action; click the OK button to continue.
  7. The Navigation Editor will reload and the item should now be removed. Click the Return to Pages button to exit the Navigation Editor and return to regular browsing of the site.